Boggling in the ADD/ADHD Brain; The Fiddle Story

Posted: April 15, 2012 in ADHD, Humor, Mental Health, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

There is this thing called boggling with ADD/ADHD (and maybe some of you regular folks as well).

Boggling is where one’s brain power shuts down completely. It is where frustrations occur and ADD/ADHD kids start walking in circles in an attempt to complete some task (that may never be completed!)

Anyway, this is my Boggle story!

I have perhaps failed to mention that I am a decent musician. It’s by no means something I do as anything more but a hobby, but I’m not too shabby.

In fact, I play that sexy saxophone fairly well, I dapple with guitar chords (okay, I can play quite a few songs, and read tabs), I tinker on the piano (mostly by ear, though I’m fully capable of reading the music), and I’m a downright pro at that little plastic flute you probably had to learn in the 5th grade. I know all the fingerings and even figured out how to play the theme song to The Titanic, yup, the very one that is touted as coming out in 3-D pretty soon.

That being said, there is one instrument I have wanted to play forever and always. The Fiddle. Oh, what a sleek instrument! How many times have I drooled over a flirty fiddle player on stage, crooked grin and sharp looks.

Not to mention the sound! Oh how beautiful is a fiddle singing in the middle of a rock-song? And what is Southern Country (specifically Texas Country) or blue-grass without a fiddle?

My adoration of fiddlers aside, I had a chance to fiddle with a fiddle yesterday. It was glorious!

Here’s the story:

On our way home from town my husband proposes we invite his young cousin over to show us his new “toy”.

I wasn’t too excited at first, it was getting late and I had to be at work the following morning, but I caved at the thought of getting to tamper with a fiddle, an opportunity I had never had before.

This cousin of his, Trestin, came by at around 8:00 pm, fiddle in hand. I was enthralled the second it came out of the case. He held it up and showed us what he could do, busting out a few notes and proudly displaying a small sense of accomplishment at his week’s worth of self-taught practice.

After a few moments, Jake and I took turns playing; laughing as we sought for the right amount of pressure to slide the bow across the strings and learned about rosin, a distinct lack of frets, and the difference in a fiddle and a guitar.

In less than ten minutes I had looked up information and played the scale for the key of G, still seeking the right amount of bow pressure, I began to get frustrated. I gave the fiddle back to my husband and his cousin to play for a few moments.

Upon taking the fiddle back, I promptly figured out the easiest song I know to play. It’s probably the first song I ever play on a new instrument, “Mary Had A Little Lamb.”

In less than an hour, I had pulled up sheet music to “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star,” and “Amazing Grace,” but it doesn’t end there; I also figured out how to play them.

I stunned the boys in the room. In that time frame my poor husband quit playing altogether claiming that he “doesn’t play with people who suck.” His cousin learned the songs as I taught them to him.

I make it sound so easy here! In truth, my ADD/ADHD got in the way…oh about every five minutes.

I would get extremely frustrated with my inability to play fluently and have to give up the fiddle and teach what I learned for a few moments. The result of this was astounding, not only did I learn faster, but by taking short breaks from one type of learning (doing) and instead using another type of learning (teaching) I prevented myself from Boggling.

I learned a valuable lesson! Focus on what I can do, rather than attempt more than I can deal with at one time. Short, frequent bursts of learning intermittent with short, frequent breaks can really help prevent boggling from occurring in the ADD/ADHD brain!

Comments
  1. theresawiza says:

    Well, I must be dyslexic as well, because when I read the title, thought is said, “Blogging in the ADD…” Interesting take on the ADD brain. Sometimes I get so hyper-focused I forget to take breaks. Well, fiddle-dee-dee 😉

  2. I get way hyper-focused sometimes too, my husband hates it! And boggling looks tremendously like blogging. A side-by-side look might confuse even the best of readers! Thanks for stopping by… 🙂

  3. […] Boggling in the ADD/ADHD Brain; The Fiddle Story (defeatingthedeficit.wordpress.com) […]

  4. FUN! And great discovery of how shifting focus helps to forstall Boggle.

    FYI: I just back-linked your post to the first article of a series of excerpts from The Boggle Book, where I explain the concept and other ways to work with it – links to the other articles in the series at the bottom of each article in the series. (btw, I am the “originator” of this use of the term, and a cofounder of the ADD Coaching field – MANY years ago now).

    It’s REALLY fun to see the meme spreading beyond the ADD Coaching world and into the ADD population at large. Thanks for helping it to spread with this post.

    Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, CMC, SCAC, MCC – (blogging at ADDandSoMuchMore and ADDerWorld – dot com!)
    “It takes a village to educate a world!”

Leave a Reply

