Succulicious

Posted: April 4, 2012 in ADHD, gardening, Humor, Mental Health, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

20120404-144021.jpg

So I’m not the greatest gardener in the world. In fact, generally speaking my gardening skills are murderous. Literally. Nothing green lives under my neglectful, ADD sense of responsibility.

Until I ran across succulents.

You see? Certain types of plants actually do better under the care of a neglectful owner.

It all started last summer when I wanted to spruce up our porch. I came home with $50 worth of cactus and succulents and proceeded to plant my very first DIY planter. I used an old washtub I found in a run down barn across the street, drilled in a few holes on the bottom, filled it with potting soil mixed with well-draining soil, and planted my cute little succulents.

And it was cute.

Until my cute little succulents took over the old washtub and began to cascade over the side. Now I wonder exactly how big that plant is supposed to get and what the heck I’m going to do when it takes over the front porch…

That being said, it appears I can grow succulents as well as my grandfather can grow fruit trees. I’m quite proud.

So, having found something that may stay alive in our full-sun flower beds, my husband and I set out to make our flower beds…well… Flower beds. Other than the two rose bushes that were well established when we moved in, I can’t keep any of the “normal” plants alive.

I bought the plants fairly small, because, well, I learned my lesson about small plants. They grow. Sometimes they grow to be quite large. My succulent from last year has tripled in size in less than a year. What does that tell you?

In all this I’ve learned quite a lesson. Not everyone can grow a Begonia, but not everyone can grow a cactus either. My grandfather claims he can’t grow any form of succulent or cacti, he “smothers” them with water.

Every human is different, and that’s okay. It’s just all a matter of “what works for you.”

For me? I can’t wait to see how much my neglect can make those plants in the front flower bed blossom.

Comments
  1. theresawiza says:

    I think it looks pretty.

  2. […] Succulicious (defeatingthedeficit.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

