Overdoing It

Posted: February 13, 2012 in Humor, Mental Health, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

I have been so good these last two weeks working with coach Dana Rayburn . I’m quite proud of my accomplishments.

1. My bathroom is still tidy and clean.
2. This blogging thing is going well.
3. My kitchen has stayed tidy (an overflow of that “be mature” and “just do it” mantra).
4. My laundry, perhaps from keeping my bathroom tidy, is almost all done.

So today I took on another task. Since I’m off all week this week, I decided I wasn’t going anywhere or doing anything for at least part of the week.

My goal was to use part of this week to get my house clean before school (work) starts again next Monday.

The “just do it” mantra took over today and I’m afraid I may have overdone it a bit.

Here’s what happened:

We have no space in our house. It’s say, 125 years old. We’re lucky that the previous renters put in closets, even if they are only 4 square feet…

Anyway, so there is no “master” in this house. It’s built in a square, two bedrooms, a bathroom, a living room, and a kitchen. There is no space for things like a dining table, and cabinet space is severely limited. All this is packed into a 900 sq foot home.

Well, lack of space for clothing is probably 1/4 of my issues with organizing, washing, and folding laundry. Truth be told, there is nowhere to put most of it as the hubs and I have been sharing a tiny dresser and the two tiny closets. So when his mother asked if we wanted another, much bigger dresser, we jumped on the opportunity.

But let’s talk about what a new dresser means! It means space for clothes, but it also means a rearranging of furniture in our tiny bedroom. Do-able, right?

Wrong. I haven’t rearranged furniture in nearly a year. The husband HATES when I rearrange furniture. He literally can’t stand the idea of changing his routine to function in a new space. So I’ve been compliment and left things “as are” for quite some times (no, seriously, moving things around has caused some of the most ridiculous fights ever).

When I came in and noticed the new dresser I was ecstatic, “you’re gonna have to help me move the dressers around.” I told him.

Nope, he wasn’t gonna help me do nothin’! So, today, I “just did it”.

Oh.

My.

God.

How long has it been since I cleaned this room? A decade? No wonder my allergies were taking over my life! It was horrendous! What turned out being a simple rearranging of furniture fell into full-fledged spring cleaning of our room. I mean, I washed windows, walls, curtains, fan blades, vacuumed enough to empty the filter three times, and scrubbed down the new and old dresser to make them shine. I also threw out an entire bag of trash…

And I’m not done yet.

Sure, the room is clean, but now I have to replace things like photographs, a jewelry box, go through my drawers to put clothes in the new dresser, organize those clothes, go through the old bedside tables that no longer fit in the room and move them to the back bedroom.

Oh crap! That will require me to move that room around too.

*sigh*

I have a feeling I overdid it today…

Thanks for allowing me a break.

*walks off mumbling*

“Be mature. Just do it. Be mature. Just do it. Be mature. Just do it. Be mature. Just do it.”

Leave a Reply

